The European Medicines Regulatory Network is now a WHO Listed Authority

date: 04/07/2024

The European Medicines Regulatory Network (EMRN), of which the FAMHP is part, has been designated as WHO Listed Authority by the World Health Organisation.

From February to April 2024, the World Health Organisation (WHO) conducted an assessment to determine whether the EMRN met the criteria set for a WHO Listed Authority (WLA). In this context, the FAMHP had to provide evidence, which it successfully did.

This designation means that the network – composed of the European Commission, the European Medicines Agency (EMA), and the 30 national medicines authorities of the European Economic Area Member States is recognised for its high level of performance. It therefore complies with international regulatory standards, guidelines and practices.

The designation covers each individual regulatory authority of the EMRN, as well as the EMRN overall. The EMRN is recognised as a ‘single entity’ and has also been designated as a ‘Regional Regulatory System’.

More information 
•    EMA press release 
•    General information on WLA designation

Last updated on 04/07/2024